Milan, Italy: Food in Milan

Because one of the best things about Italy in my opinion is the food, I decided to make a post exclusively dedicated to the best places I visited in Milan regarding food.

Gelato

I tried to eat at least one gelato a day on my trip (I know, what an overachiever!). Unfortunately, I didn’t get a picture of all of them, but I do have the top recommendations on camera. Keep in mind that a coppa piccolo (or a small cup) which usually includes 2 flavors runs for about 3 euros.

Cioccolati Italiani
The best white chocolate gelato with hazelnuts I’ve ever had is definitely from this place. They had other incredible options (like chocolate filled cones) which I didn’t get to try but I recommend at least one visit to this place on your trip in Milan.

Chocolat
I tried the white chocolate gelato and the mascarpone with Nutella swirls. Definitely loved the mascarpone, the white chocolate was okay but I have had better.

Pasta

One of Italy’s main menu items, I don’t take the thing I’m about to mention lightly. This is a must eat place in Milan.

Pasta d’Autore

One of the best pasta dinners I’ve ever had in my life has been here. At this restaurant, Nonna (grandma) wakes up every morning and decides what pasta and desserts she wants to make for lunch/dinner that day. The staff is extremely friendly, speaks English and super helpful.

My main dish recommendation is the Pappardelle with Smoked Salmon (of course matched with a good glass of wine from the Tuscan region).

Pappardelle with Smoked Salmon

And just because this place truly couldn’t get any more perfect, Nonna always makes Tiramisu. Please have the Tiramisu. It’s worth every single one of the calories and you will not regret it, I promise.

Nonna’s Tiramisu

Pizza

I couldn’t finish the food list without mentioning at least ONE pizza place to visit in Milan.

Pizzeria del Ticinese
It was the middle of the week and we were walking along a different part of the city when we noticed the time. We stumbled into this small restaurant in a random street because it had a sign outside that said the dish of the day was lasagna. My friend was craving lasagna. We went it. The prices all ranged around 10-12 euros for a single dish and 4-6 euros for a glass of wine or beer. Now, the lasagna she said was okay, I don’t have a say for her dish. My pizza was excellent! Made by the chef (or pizza guy?) by the fire wood oven, it tasted incredible.

Quattro Formaggio Pizza

Pasticceria: Tea, Coffee and Sweets

Disclaimer about myself: I am a coffee addict, have a raging sweet tooth and I loooove panettone.

As a panettone lover, when I found out I was in the city where the panettone was originally created, I couldn’t stop searching for the best places to try it. For those of you that weren’t aware of the history of panettone you can read more here.

Now for the important stuff, panettone is normally a Christmas/New Year’s item… so, where to find it year round?

Pasticceria Marchesi

One of the oldest Pasticceria in Milan is Pasticceria Marchesi, founded in 1824. I would say this place is a must visit, so you can absorb the magic of Milan, its traditions and sit in one of the most historical bakeries in the city. The place isn’t cheap, but the magic that covers you when you sit down for tea or coffee is just perfect. The panettone just disolves in your mouth and it is this yellow color just like the original panettone were.

Pasticceria Cucchi
Stumbled upon this pasticceria on a cold and rainy Sunday morning and it was definitely one to remember. I was surprised to find that they also make year-round panettone and it was actually just as good as the first one I tried at Marchessi. The croissants with custard cream were also amazing. The cappuccinos were on point. This place has a much more affordable price than Marchessi and it offers a world of delicious items as well. I recommend one or two visits here as they had a lot of savory items we did not get to try.

Starbucks Reserve Roastery
So yes, I know, Starbucks in Milan? Seriously? Italians have incredible coffee… there’s no need to visit Starbucks. Well, let me tell you, I was very pleasantly surprised when I visited the Starbucks Reserve Roastery located at the old Post Office in Milan City Center, near the Duomo.

First, you must know that there are only 5 of these special Starbucks stores in the world. Did I just fall for the marketing stunt of exclusivity? Maybe. But I also found a Starbucks like I had never seen it before. There are 3 different areas with different options of food and beverages. From cakes, to biscotti to pizza… beer, coffee, tea… its just a whole different world from the Starbucks I’m normally used to in the US. I recommend you visit here, even if it is just for the experience. Although the coffee, the chai tea and the biscotti were all delicious.

Did I miss any places you went to and loved? Please share! šŸ™‚

Leave a comment