Things to Do: Barcelona, Spain (España)

Things to Do

First, How to Move Around Barcelona:
Hop On Hop Off Bus

Barcelona is definitely not a small city, so I recommend doing at least one day of the Hop on Hop Off bus, its $35 for one day, $45 for two. I usually buy two days, use the first one to get to know the city and the second as transport to the places I see are the furthest from where I am.

The buses go by every 15 minutes and run at different times every season (around 9am-5pm). The headphones tell a nice story around the history of Barcelona and you get some fun facts of the beautiful city.

Gaudi: Casa Batlló

Gaudi’s various works throughout the city are all magnificent, but one of the best in my opinion is Casa Batlló.

Due to the fact that I read all about the long lines to get into the museum, I decided to get the skip the line tickets for $28 a person. The included audio guide comes in various languages, I definitely recommend you grab it since it is included in the price and really does help you appreciate the history of the place. I would suggest spending 2 to 3 hours at this beautiful creation and going earlier to take some pictures of the outside of the property.

Sagrada Familia

One of the main places to visit in Barcelona is the ever in construction basilica of Sagrada Familia. I say ever in construction because its construction started in 1866 and is set to be completed by 2026 (hopefully). The architect was, you guessed it, Antonio Gaudi and this was his greatest work or at least his most known.

You can buy a tour in many websites but I’d recommend buying tickets on their official website. Tickets range from 17 euros for basic entrance, to 32 euros with an audioguide and entrance to the top towers (these were closed when I went).

The basilica is breathtaking in detail both outside and inside. I recommend you go early or buy a ticket with a good amount of anticipation (or skip the line) since the crowds do go crazy. There’s also a very cute gift shop inside with beautiful keepsakes.

Surrounding Area: Andorra la Vella

I’m usually not into tours that promise various countries in one day because I feel like you cannot see everything you need to see (and its all about just stamping that passport), but this tour is definitely worth it. We went at the end of November, which was cold and unfortunately we got a very rainy and wet day (so keep this in mind when choosing your dates).

The tour in itself is great, but tiring. You leave the hotel at 7am and get back home around 8pm. The ticket price is $145, you visit a small town in Spain called Baga (right before the border), a small town in France called Ax-Les-Thermes and then visit Andorra la Vella. I don’t recommend this for families with small children as I am sure they will get bored since a lot of time is spent in the bus.

In Baga, I recommend saving some room for the delightful croissants found in the corner bakery (I don’t recall the name but it is the only bakery in town). In Ax-Les-Thermes, you can sit down for lunch, see some shops or grab a Prosciutto Baguette on the go and enjoy walking around town. In Andorra, you’ll pass by all the skii resorts and land in city center, where you can shop at various duty free shops or just walk around town.

Camp Nou: Barça Futbol Game

Let me begin by saying that although I enjoy the occasional soccer game, I am not a hard core soccer fan. This was my first time at an “international” soccer game. Camp Nou, one of the main soccer stadiums in the world, is definitely worth the visit.

We got tickets for the game months in advance, since I went on this trip with my brother and Barça is his favorite team. The tickets were around 100 euros each and were in the middle section. I recommend everyone does this in their trip.

Walking into the stadium as the team was playing was breathtaking. The energy in the stadium was incredible. Not only are the fans all constantly screaming, but watching these soccer players do their job was mesmerizing. If you don’t want to spend 100 euros on a game (they are all around that price range if you want to be in the middle, or around 70 euros if you don’t mind being up top), you can also do the tour of Camp Nou which is also very interesting and includes the history of the club.

La Rambla

One of the major avenues of Barcelona, very lively and full of shops, markets, restaurants, cafes and leading down to the Mediterranean Sea is La Rambla. A pedestrian street that runs about a mile from the coast to city center, lined with shops and restaurants and usually filled with tourists and spaniards alike. It marks the limit between Barrio Gótico (Gothic Quarter) and El Raval. 

La Boqueria Market (Mercat de la Boqueria)

If you like to eat, this will be one of the best places you visit in Barcelona.

A social and gastronomical experience, La Boqueria (or Mercat de la Boqueria) is located just off La Rambla. There are restaurants, places for small snacks and even places to buy vegetables, fruits and meats to cook back at home. Even if you’re not hungry while walking through (impossible), it is a must visit in Barcelona so take a stroll any morning (except on Sundays).

Barceloneta Beach (Playa de la Barceloneta)

One of the main beaches in Barcelona is the Playa de la Barceloneta, located close to city center. Known for sunbathing and swimming, surrounded by good restaurants and next to a beautiful boardwalk. As you can see, I went during the wintertime and even so there were some people out there enjoying the breeze. Great place to meet the Mediterranean Sea for the first time (like me!)

While you’re there, if you want to have lunch nearby at a place where the Menu of the day is a bargain, I recommend El Rey de las Gamba. Good seafood, amazing prices and very filling meals.

Please let me know if there are any places I missed! I know there are many things to do in Barcelona and we had such a short time that we only got a few, so please share your stories!

Leave a comment