Visit the Enchanting: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Growing up, all I knew about Amsterdam was about the Red Light District and how it was probably inappropriate for a teenage girl. Getting a little bit older, I heard all about the recreational marijuana. Let me start out this article by saying that although I don’t partake in the marijuana trend, I have nothing against it. I am a big believer in the “to each their own” mentality.

However, all it took was setting one foot into this place to notice what an incredible city it is, how the Red Light District was only 3 streets of this beautiful city, the marijuana although everywhere was not pushed upon anyone and how these two things did not define the city at all. So here it goes, all my intel on this surprising city which turned out to be one of my favorite places in the world.

Quick Disclaimer: I am speaking only of city center since I did not leave this area.

So unlike all my other posts where I urge you to organize yourself and buy the tickets beforehand for all the tourist activities, here I am going to encourage you to wait. All around the city there are these red tourist centers that sell tickets to all the activities and for better prices than what you find online, especially when you bundle up various activities. The ONLY activity you SHOULD buy BEFOREHAND is the Anne Frank House, as this one tends to sell out.

If you’re looking for WHAT TO EAT in Amsterdam, go to this other post instead.

If you’re looking a nice DAY TRIP FROM AMSTERDAM, visit this one.

Moving around the city

Let’s begin the story of how to move around this great city and all the things you can do.

  1. Bike
  2. Walk
  3. Hop on Hop Off Bus
  4. Hop on Hop Off Boat (yes, boat!)

Amsterdam is a city known for… you got it, BICYCLES. Its actually the city with the highest number of bicycles per capita (FUN FACT: their biggest crime is also stolen bicycles). You’ll see them everywhere, you’ll try to avoid being run over by them every minute of every day you’re there. I would suggest that if you’re not very handy with riding a bicycle, however, you stay off them in Amsterdam. Everyone is a very avid rider and they know how to miss the trolleys, cars and people coming at you from all directions.

Walk, we walked everywhere at every hour of every day. The city is super safe with barely any police presence. Everyone is extremely helpful at giving directions and really friendly. We never had a moment where we felt unsafe no matter the time or place.

As in most cities I visit, I bought the hop on hop off bus (and boat!). In Amsterdam, with all its canals, boat tours are very common so the hop on hop off includes it for a small extra amount. For $24 USD you have the bus ticket and for $26 USD you have both the bus and the boat.
The bus also includes a free diamond factory tour which I recommend since it was very interesting (and is great if you want buy some jewelry at good prices).

Must Do Activities: Heineken Experience

Let me start this item by saying I’m not a beer person, I don’t like beer and will only drink it when its extremely hot outside and there are no other options of drinks. We were in Amsterdam in January, so it was definitely not hot outside and there were plenty of other drink options; however, all the raving reviews for this place got us to buy the tickets for the Heineken Experience.

We got the tickets for 3 pm in order to be able to enjoy our beers properly (there were some at 10 am and I could not stomach a beer that early but to each their own). The experience takes you through different floors of the Heineken building/factory, telling (and showing) you the history of the company, as well as the process for making the beer. You get 3 beer tastings, a few games and even a party room at the end of the tour. Gift shop also has interesting goodies available for purchase.

I suggest taking your sweet time here and enjoying the party room (which also has beer pouring games) as the vibe is amazing šŸ™‚

Sad Part of History: Anne Frank House

One sad but must do activities in Amsterdam is the Anne Frank House.

This historical building has been turned into a museum and as you walk around the house you get to walk through this very emotional story and see what these people lived through. It is very well kept and organized and full of very interesting details and memories.

Make sure you get tickets well in advance, months in some cases, as these tend to sell out. Also try to go early in the morning as lines do get crazy throughout the day. Very steep stairs in some parts so make sure you have the ability to climb what is almost like a ladder in places. One thing to note if you go in winter: very cramped spaces which are hard with all the coats and no coat rooms.

You can buy tickets on their official website for around $12.

For you Art People: Van Gogh Museum

The Van Gogh Museum is good, let me start by explaining I am not a museum person and I’m also not an art person. So to me, this museum was good, but I got through it in about an hour or even less. My friends however love art and museums so it took us about 3 hours to get through the whole thing. If you like art, or even like Van Gogh then I recommend it.

Tickets can be purchased on their website for 19 euros.

Red Light District: Museum of Prostitution

One of the weirdest things I’ve done in my life is go to the Museum of Prostitution – Red Light Secrets. It was definitely a random activity. Ee were walking by the Red Light District and my friends decided we should go in, and for 10 euros, why not?!

The museum is actually fairly informative about the history of prostitution and it’s place in Amsterdam today. There is an audio guide to listen to different stories and a lot to see and read (all in English), along with a couple of short movies to watch. You get a free photo to take away at the end as well and a booklet recapping things you read on the way around. Takes about an hour to do. Although some people would not find this museum “proper”, I feel like prostitution has always been and still is a big part of history and learning about it and educating yourself is never bad.

Closing thoughts…

I’m sure I’m missing a lot more to do… so please, share with me what to do next time I’m there!

Leave a comment